family nights 1999/2000

When the boys were nine and six we started doing family nights using Heritage Builders Family Night Tool Chest books.  We washed feet, built crosses, maneuvered obstacle courses and left notes of encouragement for each other.  We had a family night song I would play loudly through the house, which meant get to the family room, family night was about to begin.   Our family verse has been Matthew 5:16, “Let your light shine before all men that they may see your good works and glorify your father in heaven”.  Naturally, our family night song became  “Shine” by the Newsboys (hey, I told you it was the 90’s=)  When I picked up Mitchell from school today I asked him if he remembered family nights….he said, “not really”.  I am asking him to read my blog this week as a refresher!!

As I perused my photo albums to find the pictures below I was reminded of just how sweet raising kids is.  I suppose I am a bit nostalgic by nature, but oh my, what a precious time of life.  I hope you all are taking time to truly enjoy your kids.  Life is so very busy and so much child raising is experienced at a break neck pace.  As spring approaches and you are able to get outside more, take time to go on family walks, picnics, ice cream dates, and play in the backyard.  You won’t regret it!

-Angie

Question:  What are you doing to intentionally spend time with your kids?

2000-44

Family Night:  The boys washing Dad’s feet!! (Check out Todd’s “stache”)

2000-336

Family Night:  Alex running the obstacle course=)

1999-10

Family Night:  Building a cross with Dad.

Family Night-Mitch trying to avoid sin.

Family Night:  Mitch trying to avoid sin….but it’s everywhere…so hard not to step right into it!!

Comments on: "family nights 1999/2000" (1)

  1. It’s my goal to comment here at least once a month & tell you how awesome your blog is!!! My hope is that you’ll still be at it when I hve kids ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share your wisdom, heart, and precious memories!

Leave a Reply

