If You Give A Mom A Muffin

If you plan to have children someday, here’s what you have to look forward to. If you’re a young mom, this will give you a good chuckle. If you have older children, share this poem over a cup of coffee and a muffin with a young mom you know, encourage her and share a laugh. This funny poem is based on “If you Give a Mouse a Cookie” by Laura Numeroff.

If You Give A Mom A Muffin

Author: Kathy Fictorie

If you give a mom a muffin,
She’ll want a cup of coffee to go with it.
She’ll pour herself some.
Her three-year-old will spill the coffee.
She’ll wipe it up.
Wiping the floor, she’ll find dirty socks.
She’ll remember she has to do laundry.
When she puts the laundry in the washer,
She’ll trip over boots and bump into the freezer.
Bumping into the freezer will remind her she has to plan for supper.
She will get out a pound of hamburger.
She’ll look for her cookbook.
The cookbook is sitting under a pile of mail.
She will see the phone bill, which is due tomorrow.
She will look for her checkbook.
The check book is in her purse that is being dumped out by her two-year-old.
She’ll smell something funny.
She’ll change the two year old’s diaper.
While she is changing the diaper, the phone will ring.
Her five-year-old will answer and hang up.
She’ll remember she wants to phone a friend for coffee.
Thinking of coffee will remind her that she was going to have a cup.
And chances are…
If she has a cup of coffee,
Her kids will have eaten the muffin that went with it.

This poem is my life right now. I have two little munchkins…Colby is almost 5 and Emmalyn is almost 2 (pictured below).

Photo by: James Lyn Photography

I have to embrace and remember that this is only a short season of life and there will be a day when I will look back at now and miss these days. It can seem so overwhelming when we’re in the thick of it. On the days where I can’t seem to complete one project or task, have a mountain of laundry staring me in the face and feel frutrated and exhausted with grumpy kids, I just have to remember that God is on my side. Most times a simple, short prayer can refocus my spirit and change my outlook. One verse that helps me during a challenging day is Isaiah 41:10:

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed,

for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Mommies, how do/did you get through these types of days?

-Brittany

Comments on: "If You Give A Mom A Muffin" (2)

  1. Brittany-
    You are so wise!
    This was a very cute poem and what you added was so good.
    You know, I’m not quite sure anyore how I got through it…but I did and I have three (almost) grown kids that are such good people. I do believe that a lot of the reason they are who they are is because I was there to wipe up those spills and tears and cheerios and I was there for their firsts and their sweet successes and sad trials. You get through it the best way you know how, but you get through and stay the course even though it seems easier to just let them go in a direction that you know is not really the best…but “all” their friends do it and “all” your friends let them. Being popular is not what we need to be to our kids or our friends. Following the principles we read in scripture really work, but if you have a day that you just didn’t handle the best, apologize and start fresh the next day. Kids are forgiving and so is our God!
    Those toddler days are all a whirlwind memory to me now. It really did shock me when I woke up one day and I couldn’t hear the pitter=patter or see any sticky faces or potty training accidents because, oh, how did this tuition bill get here? And I realized two of them were in college and the baby was getting ready for a high school dance.
    If I were to do it again, what would I do?
    I wouldn’t sweat the small stuff , I’d keep them busy, peak their curiosity and creativity with things we could make or do together, definitely have nap/quiet time and I’d laugh a lot!

  2. Brittany-
    You are so wise!
    This was a very cute poem and what you added was so good.
    You know, I’m not quite sure anyore how I got through it…but I did and I have three (almost) grown kids that are such good people. I do believe that a lot of the reason they are who they are is because I was there to wipe up those spills and tears and cheerios and I was there for their firsts and their sweet successes and sad trials. You get through it the best way you know how, but you get through and stay the course even though it seems easier to just let them go in a direction that you know is not really the best…but “all” their friends do it and “all” your friends let them. Being popular is not what we need to be to our kids or our friends. Following the principles we read in scripture really work, but if you have a day that you just didn’t handle the best, apologize and start fresh the next day. Kids are forgiving and so is our God!
    If I were to do it again, what would I do?
    I wouldn’t sweat the small stuff , I’d keep them busy, peak their curiosity and creativity with things we could make or do together, definitely have nap/quiet time and I’d laugh a lot!

Leave a Reply

