Spring Cleaning

We’ve all heard the phrase “The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” but I never thought I was that much like my mom. That is, until I got married! Now I see characteristics of her in myself so often. It always drove me nuts how she had to clean as we were leaving to go somewhere, or how she constantly would move the furniture around, and always wanting the bed made. I realize now how comforting each of those were to me in my adolescence, so much so that I have done it now in my own home.

My mom and I on Thanksgiving =)

A few weeks ago the sun came out for the first real time since the fall and beamed in our living room. It was beautiful, warm, and cozy. But it only took me a few moments to realize why there is such a thing as spring cleaning. When the sun comes back after winter we finally see all the cleaning we’ve missed throughout those dark winter days! So just like my mom would, I started hard at work in my quest toward spring cleaning.

I think often times I fail to stop and look around my heart for all the “cleaning” I’ve missed because of being busy. We’re all busy (right?) and God has been working in me over several years that it is often a reflection of the state of my heart when I start making excuses for why I don’t have time to exercise, read my Bible, go to the dentist, call a friend, pray, finish the laundry, go to the grocery store, etc…

I’ve been asking the Lord to help me not be like the white washed tombs that are lovely on the outside and on the inside full of everything unclean (Matt 23:27). He has been leading me to slow down, come to Him, and see the gift I have this Spring to cleanse my heart before Him without excuses. This is the beautiful process of lent that leads us to Easter. Jesus didn’t stay in the grave on our behalf and as we purify ourselves we can more fully enjoy the gift of salvation that sets us free.

I know your kids are watching you in the little things you do because I watched my parents. They know your quirks and habits and they watch because they are learning from you. I am praying that as you clean your home this Spring that your child(ren) will be more encouraged as they watch you “clean” and prepare yourselves for Jesus this Easter season. May this not only bring them comfort but also be what they carry into their own grown up lives.

Praying for you and me,

Ephesians 1:18-21a:
“I pray also that the eyes of [our] hearts may be enlightened in order that we may know the hope to which he has called us, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given.”

-Jessica

Leave a Reply

