Worry

 

“Worrying! Trying not to worry is like trying not think about something.”

I wanted to share with you something that I have struggled with for a number of years, and am just now learning that there can be freedom in it. For so many years I have thought that I could and would never change; this was just a part of me and who I am. The Lord has been showing me that I need to believe his Word when he says I am a new creature the old has gone. I have a tendency to worry about life and the circumstances that are presented to me. So much so that over the years it has become a serious health issue in my life. It has affected my joy in life as well as manifested in negative physical ailments. I have tried the medication route to no avail, and had resolved that this was just going to be a part of my life. The Lord has been teaching me through much push back on my part that He does not want me to suffer in this. His grace is sufficient for me. I have been learning that the enemy has taken my thought process and has fed me lies that I have believed over the truth of who I am in Christ. The Lord has asked me to stand up and fight and to ask others in my life to stand with me. I now go to Mike, my husband, with any negative thought or false belief throughout the day and ask him to pray for me. I need him to stand in the gap for me as my husband and the leader of our home. I love small devotional books and one that I have been reading summed up what the Lord is teaching me. The book is called “Dear Jesus” by Sarah Young. 

“Beloved, you do need My help, because trying to fight this battle on your own has been counterproductive; now you’re worrying about worrying! Your best strategy is to stop focusing on this problem and put your energy into communicating more with Me. This approach will help you achieve freedom from all sorts of negative tendencies, including worry. The idea is to replace hurtful, self defeating behavior with something wondrously positive-communicating with your Creator and Savior. Because I am your Creator, I know how you function best. I designed you for rich communication with Me. As your Savior, I also know how you function worst. Remember that I died for every one of your sins. Don’t just talk to Me, listen to Me as well. I speak to you through My Word, My Spirit, My creation. As you give yourself more and more to communicating with Me, you will find your worry time vanishing.”

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? Luke 12:25-26

An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up. Proverbs 12:25

Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths, guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Psalm 25:4-5

Be unceasing in prayer [praying perseveringly]. 1Thessalonians 5:17

I definitely have not arrived, and know that I will continue to need to trust in the Lord daily to overcome this. I hope this is encouraging for you that the Lord has a great plan for each of us. We have to make it a priority to bathe ourselves in communion with our Father every time a false belief is presented to us. We also have to believe that the Lord knows what’s best for us, and trust Him in the process. His destiny for you and me is to be victorious.

Post by Bernadette Tatlock, Children’s Community Director

Comments on: "Worry" (2)

  1. Sandii Chase said:

    So beautiful! Thanks for sharing – it is so authentically written and I love watching the Lord do this Mighty work in your life. He IS forever faithful!

  2. Wow Bern! God has really gifted you in your writing and ability to communicate so powerfully to others! I can’t wait to see more of how God is going to use you in this arena! This is just the beginning! You and Jesus rock as a team!

Leave a Reply

