Life Choices

Life is all about choices.   We are faced with many different types of choices throughout our lives that either bring honor or dishonor to our lives and to those around us.  Perhaps it would be good for us all to start each day with this question in mind – What kind of person do I choose to be today?  The choices we make today will affect our lives and those of our families.  Sometimes we become so concerned about the big decisions of our lives  we don’t realize that the small daily decisions we make can be the ones that change our lives forever.

I think the following questions would also be helpful for us to ask ourselves as we make our daily choices:

1.     Am I aware of how I affect my family with my words and actions?

2.     Are my expectations of my family unfair or unrealistic? Do I expect more of those I love than I do of myself?

3.     Do I try to keep myself morally pure and holy?

4.     Do I focus on the negatives instead of the positives in my family?

4.     Am I committed to living my life according to God’s standards or the world’s standards?

5.     Do I respect my family with the same respect I want to be given?

What if we chose each morning to honor and love those special ones God has given to us? We can make small, but meaningful choices, maybe to leave a love note, say a special word of encouragement, give a big hug, cook someone’s special dish, make your loved one laugh, or just do something that affirms how very special that person is to you.   Maybe it would be to refrain from hurtful criticism, mocking words or attitudes, anger, or being selfish.

It is such a privilege and joy to have children in our lives.  What kind of legacy do we want to leave for our children?  Will they rise up and call us blessed and desire to pattern their lives after ours?  Joshua said, “Choose you this day whom you will serve, but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”  May God give us the wisdom to make right choices in our lives. I encourage you to give your family a legacy of love, support, faithfulness and encouragement and also a spiritual legacy of faithfulness and honor to our heavenly Father by teaching them the precepts of Scripture and right principles for daily living.  Invite God to help you in your choices and He will willingly and lovingly guide you and give you the strength to be who He wants you to be for His glory.  God bless you on your journey.

Post by Diana Tatlock

Leave a Reply

